Last Lullaby (Detective Natalie Ward Book 2) by Carol Wyer #BookReview @Bookouture @bonniesbooktalk

I’m really excited to be talking about Carol Wyer’s new book, Last Lullaby on my blog today. I was lucky enough to get an advance copy via Netgalley and wanted to share my review. Below is a brief description and a copy of the fabulous cover!

Last Lullaby

Charlotte’s baby is safe. But is she?

When the body of mother Charlotte Brannon is discovered by her husband Adam, in their bedroom, Detective Natalie Ward is first on the scene. The killer has left a chilling calling card: The word ‘Why?’ written on the wall in blood.

As Natalie begins to delve deeper into the couple’s lives, she discovers that Adam has a dark past he’s been hiding and she’s sure that the Brannon’s teenage babysitter Inge has secrets of her own.

Then another mother is murdered on her doorstep in front of her young son, the word ‘why’scrawled on the wall next to her. 

All the key suspects have alibis and with her own marriage hanging by a thread, Natalie is struggling to stay focused on cracking her toughest case yet.

When a young woman and her baby disappear, a member of Natalie’s own team is put in terrible danger. Can Natalie stop this twisted serial killer and save one of her own before more families are torn apart forever?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will send shivers down your spine. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

What people are saying about Last Lullaby:

‘Tense, fast paced and totally engrossing, this is a book that will exasperate you, thrill you, chill you and truly test your detecting skills as you strive to pinpoint whodunnit. I loved Last Lullaby. I have to say that this series is shaping up to be one heck of a killer read and I am relieved to hear that book three is well on its way as I cannot wait to read more.Jen Med’s Book Reviews

‘Another winner for Ms. Wyer!! I started Last Lullaby yesterday around noon & finished it last night.There was no way I could put it down!Last Lullaby was ripe full of excellent character development, lots of twists and turns and a shocking conclusion …I very much look forward to continuing this series.’ Fish Ducky Blog, 5 stars.

Buying links:

British flag   UK:   https://amzn.to/2qprpyU         US flag  US:   https://amzn.to/2OfZcEp

 

Review

As always this publisher churns out the best fiction, so it’s not a surprise that this book was a sure-fire winner. Expertly paced, expertly crafted. Then boom! Another surprise.

Adam Brannon and his wife, Charlotte return from a 30th wedding anniversary a little worse for wear. But when Charlotte wakes up in the night to hear a strange noise coming from the baby monitor, all hell breaks loose. Detective Ward must investigate a chilling murder where all suspects seem to have adequate alibis. But with sightings of two people running from the scene and more characters coming into play, I was flummoxed to say the least! The second murder threw me for a loop due to the similarities and I thought I had it all worked out only to have that theory blown out of the water.

A fast-paced read with plenty of twists to chew on, Detective Natalie Ward is one of the most realistic characters in police procedural books I’ve read so far. Dedicated to family and work, she juggles her own relationships with this horrifying and sinister case. I thought this was cleverly handled and not one of the weak squeaks you can sometimes find in this genre. I didn’t warm to David, finding him unsupportive and potentially hindering Natalie’s progress. Although appearing tough, she could be on the path to cracking emotionally and that I found frustrating. Other characters come into play, Carmichael, Anderson and Jarvis whose sheer determination to crack the case and shatter any foregone conclusions certainly gets to the heart of the matter. Was it him? Was it her? The story moved organically and twists and red herrings were well performed, without exploiting the reader at all.

There’s more depth to this story that needs to be examined. Relationships aren’t what they seem and the web is tricky to untangle. It was one of those ‘just one more chapter before bed’ kind of reads because it’s so hard to trust anyone. I kept racing off the wrong track on more than one occasion and that’s the mark of an excellent writer. Loved it!

Thank you Netgalley, Ms. Wyer and Bookouture for such an entertaining book. It was well worth the wait!

Publication date: December 7, 2018

Find other books by author Carol Wyer here

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s