Hope To Die by Cara Hunter, published by Penguin UK, @PenguinUKBooks, @CaraHunterBooks @LouNyuar #review #blogtour #writingcommunity

It looks like a burglary gone wrong, but DI Adam Fawley suspects there’s something more to it.

When the police discover a connection to a high-profile case from years ago, involving a child’s murder and an alleged miscarriage of justice, the press go wild.

Suddenly Fawley’s team are under more scrutiny than ever before. And when you dig up the past, you’re sure to find a few skeletons…

The sixth twisty, up-all-night thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling Cara Hunter. For fans of Shari Lapena, Claire Douglas and Lisa Jewell.


WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING:

Authors can’t get enough of Cara Hunter


‘An intelligent and immersive thriller with a gritty human story’ Janice Hallett, The Appeal

‘A great premise, tight plotting, and characters who live beyond the page’ JP Delaney, Playing Nice

‘A clever, fascinating book’ Araminta Hall, Hidden Depths

‘If you start, you won’t be able to stop’
 Nicci French, The Unheard

‘A masterclass in how to write crime fiction’
 John Marrs, The Vacation

‘The DI Adam Fawley series just keeps getting better and better’ Victoria Selman, Truly, Darkly, Deeply

‘Twist follows twist at a breathtaking pace’ Daily Mail

Hope To Die by Cara Hunter is one of the best police procedurals I’ve read so far. With thorough police work and demanding research, here’s one in which I feel confident. The author certainly knows her stuff.

Inspired by a real case, this twisty mystery begins with a police call to a remote farmhouse in the middle of the night. The intruder, who has no identification, has been shot in the face at close range, and on the face of it, all appears cut and dry. But with lack of fingerprints and nothing stolen, including inconsistences in the home owner’s stories, DI Adam Fawley is hard pressed to believe this is simply a burglary gone wrong.

Alternating chapters and a written police interview allow us to examine witness statements. But none of what the Swann’s say seems to add up. Not when Richard Swann decides to confront the intruder himself with a gun—possibly not locked in the safe at the time—and so conveniently at hand. But where are his night clothes, considering a shot like that would have provided a whole heap of back-spatter?

The writing style and characterisation are top notch. It’s not often I find a book so engaging from page one, but this one is original and authentic. It doesn’t matter if you haven’t read the first in the series, each of these books act as standalones. I wasn’t sure if the section breaks were in fact chapter breaks since this is an advance reader copy, but it didn’t detract from my overall enjoyment. It upped the pace and provided the unputdownable quality I crave.

Thank you to Lou Nyuar at Penguin, Cara Hunter and Netgalley for the privilege of receiving an advance review copy.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Cara Hunter is the author of the Sunday Times bestselling crime novels Close to HomeIn the DarkNo Way OutAll the Rage and The Whole Truth all featuring DI Adam Fawley and his Oxford-based police team. Close to Home was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick and was shortlisted for Crime Book of the Year in the British Book Awards 2019. No Way Out was selected by the Sunday Times as one of the 100 best crime novels since 1945. And The Whole Truth was a Richard and Judy pick in 2021. Cara’s novels have sold more than a million copies worldwide, and the TV rights to the series have now been acquired by the Fremantle group. She lives in Oxford, on a street not unlike those featured in her books.

OTHER BOOKS BY CARA HUNTER:

Find Cara’s books here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s